About the Coalition

VCOG Board minutes, 3/14/08

Virginia Coalition for Open Government
(Draft) Minutes, Winter Board Meeting
Friday, March 14, 2008
Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke, VA

Present: Wat Hopkins, president; Dorothy Abernathy, vice president; Ed Jones, secretary; Lee Albright; Cy Dillon; John Edwards; Craig Fifer; Peter Maroney; Lawrence McConnell; John Moen; Matt Paxton; Ginger Stanley, Virginia Press Association; Peter Easter, Virginia Association of Broadcasters; Jennifer Perkins, executive director; Megan Rhyne, associate director.

VCOG Board minutes, 11/29/07

Virginia Coalition for Open Government
(Draft) Minutes, Fall Board Meeting
Thursday, Nov. 29, 2007
VPA Headquarters, Richmond, VA

Minutes 6/14/2007

VCOG board of directors meeting

10th anniversary events

Thanks to everyone who helped make our 10th anniversary Gala and ACCESS 2006 such a big success. A special thanks to the more than 75 contributors who put us over the top in our $400,000 Endowment Fund campaign. (All proceeds are being matched 1:1 by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.) Event sponsors included American Press Works, AP, Appalachian Power, Christian & Barton,The Daily Press, Dominion, First Amendment Center, The Free Lance-Star, Landmark Newspapers, LexisNexis, the Library of Virginia, Media General, the family of Laurence and Catharine

Photos: 2006 gala and conference (page 2)

Board President Paul McMasters (left) presides over the Nov. 16 VCOG board meeting with VCOG Executive Director Frosty Landon at his side. Both men will step down from their positions in 2007. McMasters' will be succeeded by current board vice president Wat Hopkins. Landon's successor had not been chosen.

Photos: 2006 gala and conference (page 1)

The children (and spouses) of the late Laurence and Catharine Richardson chat with the 2006 citizen FOI award winner Diane Johnson (to the wine-pourer's immediate right). Johnson's award is named after Laurence Richardson, a longtime Charlottesville broadcaster and a VCOG co-founder.

Access 2006 conference, as reported by Becky Dale

Access 2006 Conference
November 17, 2006
Library of Virginia

First Panel: FOIA in other states and countries
Moderator: Lucy Dalglish, executive director of Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
Charles Davis, executive director of National Freedom of Information Coalition
Frank Gibson, executive director of Tennessee Coalition for Open Government

VCOG 2006 Anniversary Gala and Annual Conference

The Virginia Coalition for Open Government held its 8th annual conference (in conjunction with its 10th anniversary) November 17, 2006, at the Library of Virginia. This year's conference featured FOI experts from around the country who discussed the highs and lows of access law, the challenges ahead and what problems are unique to a state or universal to all.

Below is a recap of the conference, provided by stalwart VCOG volunteer Becky Dale. Also below are links to some of the materials made available at the conference.

Board minutes 6.8.06

Virginia Coalition for Open Government
Minutes, Summer Board Meeting
Thursday, June 8, 2006
The Homestead
Hot Springs, VA

Present: Paul McMasters, president; Wat Hopkins, vice president; Ed Jones, secretary; Harry Hammitt, treasurer; Dorothy Abernathy; Lee Albright; John Edwards; Mark Grunewald; Connie Houston; Pam Luecke; Lawrence McConnell; Ginger Stanley, Virginia Press Association; Barrett Hardiman, Virginia Association of Broadcasters; Frosty Landon; Megan Rhyne. Present by speakerphone: Kathy Mohn; Rod Smolla; Tonda Rush, counsel.


Virginia Coalition for Open Government


Subscribe to RSS - About the Coalition