VCOG Board Meeting 072712

Virginia Coalition for Open Government
Board of Directors
July 27, 2012

Bruton Heights School Building
Williamsburg, VA

The meeting was called to order at 1:30 p.m., by Dorothy Abernathy, President.

The following Board members were physically present: Dorothy Abernathy, President; Ginger Stanley, VPA Representative; Lawrence McConnell, Immediate Past President; Pam Luecke; Pat O'Bannon.
Also present was Megan Rhyne, Executive Director. The following Board members participated by telephone: Craig Fifer, Secretary; Frosty Landon; Jeff Lester; Tom Moncure; Mark Grunewald

Rhyne explained that Lucy Dalglish has resigned from the Board due to her appointment as dean and professor of the Philip Merrill College of Journalism at the University of Maryland, and that Mark Caramanica has agreed to serve the remainder of her term (through 2012). Upon a motion by Landon, seconded by Moncure, Mark Caramanica was unanimously elected to the Board by voice vote.

Upon a motion by Grunewald, seconded by Landon, the minutes from the March 23, 2012, meeting of the Board were unanimously approved by voice vote.

Rhyne reported on the proposed 2012-2013 Coalition budget, which includes expenditure reductions in several areas due in large part to a reduction in the funding that the Virginia Press Association is able to provide. Upon motion by Luecke, seconded by O'Bannon, the budget was unanimously approved by the Board by voice vote.

Landon commended Rhyne for her activities on behalf of the Coalition since the last Board meeting, and on her appointment to the Board of the National Freedom of Information Coalition as of July 1, 2012.

Rhyne reported that John Edwards has resigned from the Board due to health reasons. The Virginia Press Association has appointed Bill O'Donovan to the Board to complete Edwards' term.

Rhyne presented the year-end figures from the 2011-2012 budget year.

Rhyne reported on membership and outreach activities, including the production and sale of a FOIA car magnet, the creation of a map showing the geographic distribution of Coalition members, and the enrollment of several new members.

Rhyne further reported that the terms of Paul Casalaspi, Craig Fifer, Mark Grunewald, Frosty Landon, Jeff South, Lawrence McConnell, Michael Stowe, Bill O'Donovan, Dorothy Abernathy, and Melody Scalley would be expiring this year, as well as the terms of all officers. These members should notify the organizations that elected or appointing them of their interest in continuing on the Board.

Rhyne reported that she has drafted job descriptions for Board members.

Rhyne reported that the 2012 Annual Conference will take place on Nov. 30, 2012, at the Craddock Terry Hotel in Lynchburg.

Rhyne reported on several recent and pending court cases that bear on access rights, and on the Coalition's list of legislative priorities for the 2013 General Assembly session. She distributed a more detailed Executive Director's report to the Board.

Rhyne reported that the Coalition's new Partners Advisory Council has been constituted, with 21 members.

Rhyne gave an update on the recent activity of the Virginia Freedom of Information Advisory Council.

The next meeting of the Board will take place on Nov. 30, 2012, at 7:30 a.m., at Craddock Terry Hotel in Lynchburg, immediately preceding the Coalition's Annual Conference.

There being no further business to come before the Board, Abernathy adjourned the meeting at 3:16 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Craig Fifer